chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Silpa's Profile
Silpa's family
Silpa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
52
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Silpa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a sofaset at 12,000 KES, clothe box at 1,400 KES, 16 iron sheets at 9,900 KES, a lorry of clay soil at 1,800 KES, 16 roofing poles at 1,920 KES, nails at 1,400 KES, wall poles at 3,000 KES, paid 3,500 KES labour charge, bought my own clothes at 4,500 KES, a sack of maize at 2,500 KES, one mattress at 1,200 KES, two padlocks at 300 KES, used 1,000 KES to start omena business, then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now getting an income from my omena business which I started with the transfer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying mattress ksh 2000, 2 plastic chairs ksh 2000 , 1 sack of maize ksh 2000, school uniform ksh 300 and balance spent on food .
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planing to spend it on building and buying at least 1 cow .
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a new house by buying iron sheets as my roof is now old, I will spend part of the transfer on building a toilet and a bathroom. I will also use part of the transfer on buying a cow and a goat. The remaining amount I will spend on starting a small business of selling fish.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that through farming, I was able to sell my produce which enabled me to buy a cow that I gave my son to take to his wife's home as dowry.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income is very low and this makes it difficult for me to support my child in continuing with his education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to do ploughing of my vegetables. This makes me happy as I am able to get cash from the sale of my produce which I can use in supporting my family.