chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Joyce's Profile
Joyce's family
Joyce
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
38
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Joyce's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($499 USD)
access_time 6 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was preparing breakfast for my children when I heard my cellphone ringing continuously. This was so unusual because no one has ever texted me during such hours. I was a bit curious, I asked my spouse to check who it was. He later realized that it was from GiveDirectly informing me that they had sent me the first transfers. I was more than excited, becasue I knew I would achieve a lot through the cash. I had to inform all my family members and we all celebrated receiving this gift.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that through the transfer, I was able to buy goats that I am currently keeping in my homestead. I settled on rearing them because they reproduce twice a year and require minimal management and their offspring mature very fast compared to other domestic animals. Furthermore, their food is easily available in my region since they can live in any type of climate. I am hopeful that they will multiply and increase in number within a short period. Therefore, I shall sell some in our local markets and to my neighbors. And according to me, these are the well-thoughtful assets that will help me shortly more so my children education journey since they are now in primary schools. Being jobless and only dependent on my spouse for the daily upkeep who also rely on temporary jobs with a daily income of KES 150. This would definitely not be enough to cater to our five children's school fees once they transition to secondary schools. Thank you GiveDirectly for making an impact in my life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying livestock more so four goats at KES 20000. I settled for the goats becasue according to the climatic condition of my region it's very favorable and they reproduce twice a year and the offsprings mature faster. In addition to that, I bought iron sheets, building poles, timber and nails, and labor cost at a total of KES 30000. This was purposely for the construction of a new house specifically for my three sons who are now teenagers and we have been sharing the same house all along with I which was not right according to my culture, it's a taboo. I also bought a new bed and a mattress at KES 4800 for my children because they have been sleeping on some old mats which could affect their back and we have been on and off in hospitals.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means improved standard of living for me and my family. This is because I plan to start dairy farming by buying 3 dairy cows at a cost of 45,000 Kenya shillings. This will help me get milk for sale as well as for consumption. The money I will get from the sale of milk will help me buy food, pay school fees among other needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when my children go to school. This gives me enough time to go to work so as to get money to take care of their needs.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing in my life is lack of a consistent income-generating activity. I do casual work that occurs periodically and this gives me headache because my family basic needs should be met. I really struggle a lot to get food, clothes and school fees for my children, given the little that I earn from the casual jobs.