GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 35,000 KES of my second transfer on paying for my mother in laws hospital bills,i spent 10,000 KES on wiring electricity into my home and spent the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is seeing my mother in law well and back on her feet again,this was only possible through the transfers.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to pay primary fees for 2 children KES 2000, wired my house KES 5000 bought a half bag of maize KES 1200 and food KES 1600.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to tap electricity into my house and plaster it.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to cement my house to avoid frequent maintance. Secondly l would wish to pay school fees for child. Lastly l would like to use the rest of the money to open up a business to generate income to substitute my husband's
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that is that we have worked hard and built our own house since when l got married my husband did not have a house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is unreliable source of income to even provide for our children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when someone aproach me do something house work for them knowing that I earn money from that.