GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Margret's Profile
Margret's family
Margret
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Margret's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on paying my dowry.I also bought 10 iron sheets and timber.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am happy because my husband paid my dowry.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my whole token payment to buy iron sheets (9900).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build an iron sheet roofed semi-permanent house and to buy a plough.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a better house for my family. I will also use part of the transfers to buy some oxen and a ploughing machine which I will use to till my farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having been able to make clay pots for quite some time and managed to feed my family after selling them at the local market.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to pay school fees for my children who are in primary school, if I am unable to raise the required fees they may drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening after working all day. I usually relax as I prepare dinner for my family.