chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Julita's Profile
Julita's family
Julita
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Julita's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used 30000 to build a new house, 3000 to pay school fee, 3200 to repay a loan and on clothes and 13500 on food
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had a very small house that we all would squeeze in but now i have built a spacious one with the help from GD, i would not do that on my own since i am a widow and have children to take care of. My children as well can now go to school and they also have good clothes to put on.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on paying school fees.I also paid a loan of KES 2,000 and bought maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.i also want to buy chairs.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfers on buying house furniture,building a better house,buying food for the family and lastly start a small business for more income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having been able to single handedly take care of my children up to this far after my husband passed on six years ago.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing currently is on paying school fees for my children with no proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day comes in the morning when I see my children happy having taken breakfast.