<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Meshack's Profile
Meshack's family
Meshack
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
71
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought cement 11680 KES, ballast 16000 KES, building wires 20000 KES and added with my savings t buy wall pass 4000 KES,
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Building a permanent house has been my new goal.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I moved from a mud house to a permanent house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent on building an a permanent house though it's not yet completed.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was able to start the construction of a permanent house, otherwise I would never have owned such a house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buying bricks , l also use the transfer for medication.l
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
plan to buy sand and cement and pay for lobur to build my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to renovated my house by changing the walls to bricks . Secondly l would wish to start up paultry farming to generate income to sustain my family. Finally l would wish to do goat farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l struggled to educate my children though l did not manage to take them to college.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor health since I am suffering from chest problem.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning hours when working in my farm with my wife.