GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Anna's Profile
Anna's family
Anna
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Anna's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets at 13,000 KES, 15 bags of cement at 9,750 KES, 250 bricks at 3,000 KES, a lorry of murram soil at 6,000 KES, paid 5,000 KES labour charge, bought a goat at 2,000 KES, a sack of maize at 3,000 KES, used 5,000 KES to boost my retail shop business, then used the rest on food for my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now able to settle school fee for my children from the generated income from my shop business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,000KES on buying paint and painted the walls of my house. I also paid 3,000KES for school fees for my son, and bought a sack of maize @2,000KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
i plan to ironsheet for my son to use for building his simba, pay his school fees, and save some money for paying his school fees in future.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to plaster my house. I also plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my children in high school. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy a cow. I also plan to spend the remaining part of transfer to boost my business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build a house for my family. I managed to do this after selling a piece of land that belonged to me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a stable source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to get profit from my business.