chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Sharon's Profile
Sharon's family
Sharon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Sharon's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($22 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different from how it was four months ago in that I had no source of income at all. I could go an extended of borrowing money from my parents to afford my basic needs but currently, I have settled the debts I had hence can use what I earn both from casual jobs and GD monthly transfers to improve my family life.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
An added goal that I have in my life in the next four months is to buy a cow. This is a dream I have had in mind but due to shortage of funds, it became such a big challenge to acquire on my own.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my daily life in the last four months preceding my current transfer is the state and the process of renovating my house. I had built a mud house that we used to live in with my family. It was becoming uncomfortable to live in since it was prone to frequent wear-out resulting in a lot of cracks on the walls and much dust on the floor. To make it worse, prolonged droughts in the area makes it harder for regular repairs. I used the monthly transfer jointly with my husband to renovate it by plastering it. Even though it is not complete yet am happy with the progress and the far we come.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I expected my life to have changed as far as asset ownership is concerned. Owning a cow is a measure of wealth in my community and so by having one, I will count myself to have risen a step higher.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
2735 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
The maize business I have just started is a new goal which I never had before. I got this idea the day I received the transfer and decided to start it without a delay. the business is now picking and I am confident that I will be able to expend it with time.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently changed in that I can at least afford to manage my household budget and a day can't pass without a coin in my pocket due to the maize selling business I started.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months I expect to my life to have changed in that I would wish to have bought some goats and also looking forward to having my ow cow so that I may stop buying milk.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving payments from GiveDirectly is the fact that every day in my life nowadays comes with a push to improve my just started business.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is the lack of enough food for us as a family. This is something that has been hard for me especially when I have a young child who needs food regularly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is at noon, when we have food for the day and therefore are able to relax a lot.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend part of my transfer on buying household goods. I also have plans of buying a cow for the household in future.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that am proudest of is when I had my first child in the year 2016. This gave me joy and a great sense of responsibility. He also motivated me to work more harder to provide for him.