chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Onyango's Profile
Onyango's family
Onyango
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Intern/volunteer
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Onyango's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that my parents can now support themselves with the business that I assisted them to start. They no longer have to wait for my support from the unpredictable casual jobs that I used to depend on, they now have a restaurant which earns them an income.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My goal is still to complete my college education and graduate and to start a cooking oil business in my neighborhood in Mathare 4B village.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to pay for school fees arrears that I had in college. I started college at the Kenya Institute of Management in the year 2017, where I study Archives and Records Management. My father has been chipping in to pay my school fees whenever he could, as I also depended on casual jobs to pay my school fees. My father then retired to our rural home around mid last year and he stopped working. I had no other reliable means to pay my school fees, which forced me to drop out of college whereby I also left behind some school fees arrears. I was happy to begin receiving my transfers as I now have hope that I can complete my education. I spent the remaining of my transfers to partner with my mother back in our rural home at Siaya county, to begin a restaurant, which is so far doing well and supporting my parents.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I will use my next transfer to purchase the remaining equipment and rent a premise where I can set up the business. The rest of the money will go to my college fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have a sponsorship from an organization that pays part of my college fees, but raising the other part has always been a challenge because neither my mother nor I have a stable income . Receiving this money and paying part of the fees has taken a huge burden off our shoulders and given us a peace of mind as we know that the next transfers will go along way to help clear the balance.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I was planning to start a gaming business in this area but the equipment required for this business are so expensive that I could not purchase all of them. I spent part of the money I received to purchase some of the equipment such as a computer and Sound system. I also paid part of my college fees with part of the money then saved the remaining amount in my bank account for any emergencies.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was so excited when I saw the messages because that was the first amount of that kind that I ever received on my phone. I immediately called my friends to find out if they had received the money as well. That was my best day of the year.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I want to open a kids ps shop so that by kidz playing i will be able to raise daily income that can help me buy food and save some little cash. By paying my school, i will gain more knowledge on how to run the business till i expand it and be able to employ more people. At my home place, cows are seen as long term invetment and by them giving birth i will beable to sell after a period of time and even use them for dowry payment.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is achieving my ambition because everyone measures growth differently and by achieving my ambition means growth and everything else will run smoothly.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I want to own my own business, get employed somewhere be prominent and move out of Mathare.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
Most of the times when i am free, i love staying indoors playing games.