chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Philip's Profile
Philip's family
Philip
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow.I also bought building materials(wall polls,nails),bought clothes and food for my family and still have 12,000 KES which I want to build a house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a Mpesa business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a cow which is an investment to me.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying building materials(iron sheet and nails).I also paid dowry for my wife and bought clothes for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that am free with my in laws since I paid my wife's dowry.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the transfer to settle dowry.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to establish my own home with iron roofed house. I'm also planning to furnish the house I'll build.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay dowry for my wife, buy household items and if possible build a house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was buying furniture. This is because I used money that we had saved in a local group, where we had a merry go round.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning because I am able to wake up and thank the Lord for giving me life.