GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lona's Profile
Lona's family
Lona
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought building materials for my family and my mother-in-law. We have been squatters for a long time and this money was heaven sent to help us get our own place. With a house, we don't have to ask for places to sleep anymore and we can have somewhere to call home.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I felt fulfilled, as though, God had remembered me.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first cash transfer to buy 10 pieces of iron sheets worth 6000 KES,a mattress 1600 KES, paid school fees 300 KES and finally a sack of maize 1000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a house since i am still staying in my father in law's home stade. I am also planning to buy a cow to help me dig in future
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a house for my family
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having given birth to three beautiful children They are my pride and joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to build a house for my family. We still shelter in my grandfather in law's house but this is very uncomfortable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up because I can thank the Lord for blessing me and my family.