chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Selesa's Profile
Selesa's family
Selesa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
35
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Selesa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to build a house so l bought 24 iron-sheets at 15000 kshs, poles at 4800 kshs nails at 1000 kshs, timber at 4200 kshs, door 3500 kshs, l spend 6500 kshs for labor and 2500 kshs for transport, the remaining balance l use in the house for buying foodstuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was in a very bad condition, small house but now l have a very nice, comfortable and spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought mattress worth 3,500, Five plastic seats at 3,500, metal box for Ksh 1,500 and paid school fees for 2000. The little amount remaining i used for food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am intending to build a house with the next transfer and buy a cow with remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy iron sheets, cement, timber and nails to be used to repair my house and also buy a mattress and household items.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that my husband and I saved enough money and managed to build our own homestead.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for both my husband and I, this makes it difficult for us to pay school fees for our son who is in primary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am relaxing with my family and we are having a meal together.